Orchid Blooms

Updated 3/1/17

img_1096

Orchids are gorgeous and once you get the chance to watch one that is about to bloom, you will know how exciting it is! You will get a chance to see it, day-to-day, slowly open and the final product is amazing!!


Orchid blooms are initially sealed, protectively, with three sepals. Sepals are the outer covering of the bud and are normally green (sometimes they are a dark maroon color) and then change color upon blooming.

img_1083As the bud slowly opens the sepals fold back to show the inner petals of your orchid. Inside the three sepals are three petals. These three petals are not all the same size. There are two large petals on the top left and right and a smaller petal at the bottom forming a lip. This bottom petal is special in that it forms a unique “lip” shape and often has a lot of different colors on it.
Here is an example of a Phalaenopsis sepals and petals
img_1102
Notes:

Orchid blooms take time to open. Be patient when waiting for them to bloom and never force them to open!

A common yet frustrating experience is called “bud blast,” which is when you are waiting for you buds to open and instead they shrivel, turn yellow, and fall off. Click on the link for my post on Bud Blast for more information on this subject.

When changing from one potting mix to another your orchids may change color from one year to the next. Many times I bought a pink or yellow orchid and the next year it bloomed white. This is normal and is due to different nutrients in the soil.

Hope that Helps,

Hannah

Feel free to leave comments or questions here and you can always email me at myfirstorchid@gmail.com with pictures of your orchid.

 

16 Comments on “Orchid Blooms

  1. Will mine bloom only white now? I use the orchid mix potting soil and orchid fertilizer. How do I get my color back

    • Hi,

      If it was dyed to start with it will be white when it re blooms. If it was not dyed then it will produce the same color you had before.

      Most dyed orchids are blue.

      Hannah

  2. Hello,
    I’m so happy to have found this website, it is very helpful, thank you. My question has more to do with a spike that never bloomed. I have had this orchid for 6 months now, it came with a spike, but it has not changed, grown, or bloomed in all this time. This orchid (a phal) is also with my other phals on the same spot for all this time (inside the house by an east window gets morning sunlight and not direct sunlight) It is also on the same watering schedule as the other. It has grown new roots, and new leaves, but the spike is like frozen in time. Any advise wold be much appreciated. Thank you!

    As a side note, the other 2 phals that share the same area as my “frozen” one have all been together for about the same time, they have not grown any new spikes, however they are growing keikis.

  3. I have a beautiful healthy orchid plant it has 3 shoots with 3 flowers on each shoot. They are very nice however the sepals are starting to fold in. They haven’t been on long maybe 10 days. The plant is in the kitchen under a skylight also 77 degrees in the house. It has bloomed before and didn’t do this.

    • Hi Joan,

      That’s interesting. Is potentially in a different spot then last time? Is there direct air from a vent maybe blowing on it? Are you only watering it when it’s dry?

      Hannah

  4. Hi Hannah! I got my orchid last August–and it produced the most beautiful blooms over the winter–I am surprised that about a month ago a new leaf appeared, and now this morning I noticed a new spike–I am so excited! I have been using plant food and it loves the plant light.

    All I’m wondering today is how often do they bloom–I thought I would have to wait a lot longer. So happy.

    Thanks Hannah–I thought for sure I could not keep this little thing alive, so the fact that it’s thriving has so much to do with your advice!

    Amy Sayers
    Sturgis, MI.

  5. Hi,
    My orchid is producing two spikes and the spikes go to different direction. My question is how or when can I arrange or attach a spick to a stick? I’ve tried to move a spike gently in fear of breaking the it but it won’t move.
    Appreciate your guidance.
    Best, Marina

  6. Hello,

    I recently got an orchid and its still alive but 90% of the buds resulted in bud blast and one of the blooming flowers fell off. I know that you can not fix bud blast but is it possible for a new bud to grow where the bud blast took place?

    Any advice would be great.

    Thank you,
    Marie

  7. Hannah,
    My orchid is blooming from under the leaves, at the base of the plant. I was wondering whether this was a keiki? It has bloomed normally for years really beautifully so I’m a bit devastated!
    Georgina

    • Hi,

      I am sorry! I would love to help.

      Is there a way you could send me a picture at myfirstorchid@gmail.com. If not we can try to figure it out here. By blooming do you mean the flowers are literally at the base or it’s producing leaves at the base?

      Hannah

  8. Hannah i bought a phaleanopsis last year which had two spikes. After it finished blooming I’ve repotted and its started to grow a root. No sign of a flower spike. Do they commonly have two spikes and what are the conditions other than the normal growing conditions you’ve mentioned, that encourage two spikes? And given it had the two spikes last season will it need a rest this season and hence why its not putting a spike out. I’m in Australia.

    • Judy,

      That’s a good question! I have never had any orchid produce two spikes at the same time. I gave one away that apparently did so I know it can do it naturally.

      It may need a rest from last season – also I know that at http://www.repotme.com they have fertilizers that promote more growth. You could also email them and maybe they could recommend a special one (maybe that you could find in Australia) if you are going for two spikes.

      But the good news is it’s growing a root and hopefully new leaves. When orchids are in their growth season (the one in between blooms) they grow new roots and new leaves which helps produce the next bloom spike(s).

      Hannah

Leave a Reply

