Paphiopedilum Orchids

Updated 3/1/17

img_0979Paphiopedilum orchids are best known as their pseudonym, “The Lady Slipper.” They are really, really cool and unique as far as orchids go because they have one BIG bloom instead of a bunch of small to medium blooms.

The Lady Slipper is a monopodial orchid meaning it does not have a pseudobulb, like the common Phalaenopsis orchid. Monopodial orchids need to be watered more frequently because without a pseudobulb they do not have a water reserve. I treat my Lady Slipper the way I treat my Phalaenopsis orchids in that I wait for their mix to get dry and then water them. Click on my post on How to Water for more information.

Lady Slippers also need special mix, which I get from rePotme, that helps them keep moist between watering. I also like to fertilize them in the same way I fertilize my other orchids.

  • Spring – production of late blooming and repot when out of bloom
  • Summer – production of new root and leaf growth
  • Fall – production of new root and leaf growth/potential of new spike
  • Winter – production of new spikes and blooms

Hope that helps,

Hannah

Feel free to leave comments or questions here and you can always email me at myfirstorchid@gmail.com with pictures of your orchid.

3 Comments on “Paphiopedilum Orchids

  1. I’m baby sitting my parents Lady Slipper over the winter and I’m getting concerned because it keeps dropping leaves. It’s down to two big ones (one of which has a brown spot) and a small leaf. Is it too much water or light?

    • Hi,

      I would love to help!

      How do you water it?
      Where is it placed in your home?
      How many leaves have fallen off?
      Are they falling off from the bottom or top of the plant or both?

      Hannah

  2. Maybe you might want to update your My Orchids blog, because I want to see what your Paph looks like 🙂

Leave a Reply

